Apple hits it out of the park with iOS 4.1!

BY THE APPLE GIRL 

iOS 4.1 brings some cool iPhone updates to the table.

1. HDR  Photos and HD videos: Apple just raised the photography bar on smart phones with HDR (High Dynamic Range) photos. Shutterbugs, this is another reason for you to snatch up the iPhone 4! I have played around a little bit with it, and I think the iPhone pictures are now super sweet in frames with a lot of light or a lot of shadow. GoogleChic, you are missing out on HDR paired with the Retina display (Yes, I cannot stop raving about the retina display!),  want to borrow my iPhone now? 🙂

2. Game Center: If you think Ping won’t make a big hit, with Game Center Apple’s got another social network on it’s hands. You can invite friends to games and even brag your achievements. The interface is gorgeous and with more games being added every day, I can totally see myself using the iPhone as my primary gaming device.  With iOS as the new gaming platform, Apple has thrown down the gauntlet at Sony and XBOX. Oh and don’t hold your breath waiting for the “Sony PSP phone”! Even if the rumor is true, we all know that the Android interface sucks and is way off from trumping the iOS. Right, GoogleChic? 😉

3. TV Show Rentals: You can now rent TV shows directly on your iPhone. At 99 cents you’ve got 48 hours to watch your TV show without advertisements.   Now, if you get the new Apple TV, you can watch these TV shows directly on your HD TV. Cable networks, it’s time you stop milking us dry with your roof high subscriptions, and get those prices down!

GoogleChic, will GoogleTV bring in a media store to compete with Apple?  Unless they want to be beaten to shreds, Google should just stick to improving its Google Instant search(which apparently a Stanford kid can outdo)!

Apple has also fixed the most popular proximity sensor bug and 3G performance issues in the new update.   iOS 4.1 success ? Check!

With so many new features in 4.1, Apple will keep the media buzzing until November, when iOS 4.2 is to be released. Oooo I can’t wait for Airplay on 4.2! GoogleChic, Apple gives us awesome new features with every update; I’m challenging you to list all the eye-catching features on Android 2.2!


BY THE GOOGLE CHIC 

1. HDR Photos – Like I said previously, the HDR photos feature is pretty neat! However, this is just a software feature, I’m sure Google can whip this up in no time. Also, it looks like we already have some HDR options on Android. Camera 360 Pro is able to mimic the HDR feature pretty well, of course it does it without taking multiple exposures but looks pretty good to me.

2. Game Center – Don’t hold your breath on Game Center AppleGirl. It looks like it’s sounding to be a flop just like Ping. PC World called it lifeless! Need I say more? AppleGirl, you’re complaining about the Android interface, but apparently in Game Center the “Find Game Center Games” button just brings you to the Game Center page which is really an advertisement page. Ouch, who’s interface has issues now?

3. TV Shows Rentals – Seriously, you want to pay 99 cents to watch a TV show? I can do that right now without paying a cent, thanks to the Adobe Flash support 🙂 Who cares about a 20 sec commercial, I’m not going to loose sleep over that!

As for GoogleTV, I don’t think you can compare GoogleTV and AppleTV. The two have different concepts, Google TV is about integrating the web with your DVR and your TV. In my opinion, Google will probably not operate a media store since GoogleTV is connected to the web. You can directly go online to get the products you need. Let’s see how this one plays out.

AppleGirl, if you that that the iOS 4.1 features are awesome, does that mean you consider the Froyo 2.2 features mind blowing :)? Here’s all of the eye-catching features that Froyo brought us.

Android 2.2 features iOS 4.1 does not have!

1) Speed – With the Dalvik VM (JIT complier) we noticed improvements in the speed, 2-5X faster with the same hardware! This means less battery consumption as well 🙂

2) Cloud to device messaging – If I was looking up an address for a restaurant on my laptop, I simply have to hit the “Google Chrome to Phone” button and the address will be sent to my phone and it’ll automatically pull up my maps application. This works for webpages as well.

3) Storing apps on the SD card – Wait, iPhone doesn’t have an external storage. So I guess you’ll have to slowly sync all of your settings from iTunes. If I were to switch phones for whatever reasons, all of my apps will be loaded once I pop the SD card into the new phone.

4) Portable Hot spot – I’m able to turn my device into a portable hot spot. AppleGirl, I know you think this is pretty cool, you’ve experienced this first hand 🙂 Remember, how you were able to tether off of my adorable Nexus? Apple Fanboys, don’t hold your breathe on this one, you’re only allow to Facetime over WiFi, I don’t think AT&T will agree to turning the iPhone into a hotspot.

Catch the video below to check out all of the awesome features! I do have to say if this is what 2.2 brings us, I can’t wait for 3.0 (Gingerbread).


4 Responses to “Apple hits it out of the park with iOS 4.1!”

  1. A genuinely excellent publish by you my friend. I’ve bookmarked this page and will occur back following several days to examine for any new posts which you make.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

