From Steve Jobs Biography “I’m going to destroy Android”

 BY THE APPLE GIRL

Steve Jobs’ biography by Walter Isaacson is expected for release on October 24. The Associated Press obtained an early copy of the book, and shared some highlights about it.

On HTC’s introduction of an Android phone that boasted much of the popular features of the iPhone, the book says that Steve called it a “grand theft”

“I will spend my last dying breath if I need to, and I will spend every penny of Apple’s $40 billion in the bank, to right this wrong,” Jobs said. “I’m going to destroy Android, because it’s a stolen product. I’m willing to go thermonuclear war on this.”

Jobs used an expletive to describe Android and Google Docs, Google’s Internet-based word processing program. In a subsequent meeting with Schmidt at a Palo Alto, Calif., cafe, Jobs told Schmidt that he wasn’t interested in settling the lawsuit, the book says.

“I don’t want your money. If you offer me $5 billion, I won’t want it. I’ve got plenty of money. I want you to stop using our ideas in Android, that’s all I want.” 

The biography also hints a new product that Apple may have in the pipeline – an integrated HDTV

“‘I’d like to create an integrated television set that is completely easy to use,’ he told me. ‘It would be seamlessly synced with all of your devices and with iCloud.’ No longer would users have to fiddle with complex remotes for DVD players and cable channels. ‘It will have the simplest user interface you could imagine. I finally cracked it.'”

Apple’s design guru, Jonathan Ive is also spoken about in the book. 

He called Jonathan Ive, Apple’s design chief, his “spiritual partner” at Apple. He told Isaacson that Ive had “more operation power” at Apple than anyone besides Jobs himself — that there’s no one at the company who can tell Ive what to do. That, says Jobs, is “the way I set it up.”

Ive, Apple’s Senior Vice President for Industrial Design, has been at Apple for nearly 20 years and is responsible for the iconic product designs that the company has released.   

The biography has been having record pre-orders. If you haven’t yet ordered the best Steve Jobs memorabilia, then do so now 🙂 You can order it here.

Leave a Reply

