Verizon Samsung Galaxy Nexus Review

 BY THE GOOGLE CHIC

It’s now been a week since I got the Samsung Galaxy Nexus which I LOVE!  Here’s the good, the bad and the ugly.

Overall it’s a solid device, and the best part of the phone is Android 4.0; Ice Cream Sandwich (ICS).  I love the face unlock feature which is a new feature in ICS. It’s really cool but it’s more of a show feature. After about two days, I got sick of looking at myself every time I had to unlock the phone and eventually reverted back to the old school slide unlock. The other thing that I really like a lot is the speed of the speech to text feature. With the improved speech to text feature it’s pretty much real time and you’re able to indicate punctuation and emoticons 🙂 Google has also improved the camera, pictures now snap instantly. In fact it was so fast, I took the same picture a couple of times thinking that it wasn’t working!

As for the hardware, the phone feels solid. I LOVE love LOVE the 4.65 screen size. At first I was very worried that it would be too big, but when you hold it in your hand it feels comfortable. The extra real estate is much appreciated when I’m surfing and watching TV on my phone (yes I use my phone as my primary device). Also, it doesn’t feel clunky when you’re actually talking on the phone.

Now for the bad. As many people have complained and Verizon has acknowledge, the signal strength on the phone is not awesome. Considering that I moved from T-mobile because I had issues with dropped calls, I wasn’t too thrilled when I found this out. Although, the signal is weak I haven’t had any dropped calls yet (knock on wood) and voice quality is good. Verizon has pledge to fix this issue with a software update so I guess I can live with it for now and shack it up as the price to pay to be an early adapter.

As for the ugly, the battery life on the phone is HORRENDOUS and I’m extremely disappointed from this aspect. Although, I have to say it’s improved over the week. Earlier this week I managed to get 3.5 hours of battery life out of the phone, I was on LTE and was heavily using my phone. So here are some tips and tricks to help improve your batter life on your Galaxy Nexus.

  • Turn off haptic feedback- I heavily use GTalk on my phone so I found this really helped. To turn this off go to Settings-> Keyboard ->Android Keyboard settings (or the keyboard of your choice) -> uncheck vibrate on keypress. Additionally, you can turn off the haptic feedback on the menu buttons by going to Settings-> Sounds-> uncheck the vibrate on touch 
  • Turn off WiFi- Turn off WiFi when it’s not needed. I installed Llama which is a location profile app and have set it to turn off WiFi when I’m not at home. 
  • Set WiFi to never sleep when your phone is in the away mode (Settings -> WiFi->Advance->Keep WiFi on during sleep (always))
  • Use auto brightness on your phone
I know that the reason that the battery life is so poor is mainly due to the fact that I’m using LTE. You can always opt to not use LTE but one of the reasons why I got the phone is for the improved data speeds so that wasn’t an option for me. Also, Google is soon releasing an update which should help battery life. With the small improvements I managed to get 10h 8 mins today with 14% left. Also, I didn’t use my phone quite as often today but I’m much more happier that I was able to go a full day without charging it.
With that said, if you’re not willing to live with the minor issues then hold off on getting the phone. Otherwise, I would jump on it right away 🙂


 

5 Comments to “Verizon Samsung Galaxy Nexus Review”

  1. How did you turn off hapic feed back i cant figure it out in the new os?

    I woukd absolutely agree with most of the review. I do, however thinkthe phone ix too big. One hand typing, holdjng the phone and typing wiyh my thunb is impossible. I have to use rwo hands. :/

  2. Those instructions don’t work on the Nexus. I’ve tried it. Haptic feedback is still on for some reason.

  3. Can someone please explain how to turn off haptic? There are no such tabs or listings within the Settings in the Nexus that pertain to the keyboard. And when you turn off vibrate it does not effect the keyboard, it still vibrates.

  4. This phone cannot even last for 4 hours on original battery! I can’t even consider the original battery to be a viable option for use. Perhaps update 4.0.4 can address this issue but highly doubt it

    End up I have to to use an extended battery to lengthen the power life of this phone. So far the Qcell extended battery last me through a day which is an acceptable usage for me

    http://www.amazon.com/QCell-Verizon-Samsung-Extended-Compatible/dp/B00746TQVM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1333084783&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

